Rest homes: hospital level care, everything you need to know

Hospital level care is specialist clinical care for residents from registered nurses and
highly trained caregivers. It includes end of life care and respite care.

Hospital level care is the highest form of care available in a care home. It’s
designed for residents who require 24/7 personal care, for example
assistance showering, dressing, and feeding, as well as help with medication
and pain management.

Rest home level care is the lowest level of care available in a care home. It’s
designed for residents who require moderate everyday support with
personal care.

Residents must undergo a Needs Assessment to identify whether they
require hospital level care. To arrange a Needs Assessment, please contact
your local Needs Assessment Service Coordination (NASC) service. You can
contact NASC directly or through your GP or care home.

There is government funding available for residential care, including both
rest home and hospital level care. Funding for residential care is
means-tested and depends on your assets and income. Residents must
complete a financial means assessment from Work and Income to determine
if they qualify for the residential care subsidy. If you do not qualify for the
subsidy, they will need to pay up to the ‘maximum contribution’, which is set
by the Ministry of Health.

The total cost of hospital level care usually exceeds the maximum
. The DHB pays the ‘top-up’ costs (and this is not means-tested).
Please note, the DHB will only pay the difference if the care is provided in a
DHB-contracted care facility.

Residents must complete a Needs Assessment (see above) before applying
for government funding.

Types of hospital care
Specialist hospitals
Also called ‘psychogeriatric hospitals’, these are for residents
who require specialist support, for example due to dementia,
age-related disability, or a mental health condition. They are
staffed by highly trained registered nurses and caregivers.
Private hospitals
These are long-stay hospitals for elderly residents who require
24/7 personal care, usually due to illness, medical conditions, or
end of life. They are staffed by registered nurses and caregivers.
Find hospital level care

Other types of care

Rest home care

Rest home care is a type of residential care. Rest homes (also called care homes) provide 24-hour care to people who are no longer able to live independently.

Respite care

Respite care is short-term care for people who normally live independently, but require temporary support. People often seek respite care following an operation, illness, or accident.

Dementia care

Dementia level care is specialist care for residents with dementia who require accommodation within a secure environment with support from highly trained staff.

Log in to Village Guide

Log in to Village Guide

Don’t have an account?

Sign up to Village Guide

Already have an account?

Reset your password

Don’t have an account?

You can request an Information Pack for multiple villages by adding them to your Saved List. When ready, complete the form within your account area.